The rosary

The rosary is a very old prayer, from the first years of the Church. To pray the rosary, you do a part each day, five mysteries each.


Although the rosary is a repetition of prayers, it doesn't want the devotee to be a clack. Each mystery is a chance to meditate a little in what Jesus and Mary could have been going through in that moment, being quiet a moment to give some room to God to talk to you as well.


+ The rosary starts with the sign of the cross and the creed or the act of contrition
+ Continue with our Lord's prayer, 3 Hail Mary's and the glory
+ Next announce the mystery and pray 1 Lord's prayer, 10 Hail Mary's, a glory and the prayer of Fatima. Repeat this for each mystery
+ End with the Hail Holy Queen and your closing prayer


Joyful mysteries (Mondays and Saturdays)
+ The Annunciation
+ The Visitation
+ The Birth of Our Lord
+ The Presentation in the Temple
+ The finding of Jesus in the temple

Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays and Fridays)
+ The agony in the Garden
+ The scourging at the pillar
+ The crowning with thorns
+ The carrying of the cross
+ The crucifixion

Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays and Sundays)
+ The Resurrection
+ The Ascension
+ The descent of the Holy Spirit
+ The Assumption
+ The crowning of Our Lady Queen of Heaven

Mysteries of Light (Thursdays)
+ The Baptism in the Jordan
+ The wedding feast of Cana
+ The proclamation of the kingdom of God
+ The Transfiguration
+ The institution of the Eucharist

Knowledge + You + Religion