Peruvian civil calendar

Which are the general holidays in Peru? In all the country, these days are the ones observed by the inhabitants:

+ January 1st, New year
+ Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday before Ash Wednesday, Carnival
+ Holy Thursday and Friday, during the Easter week
+ May 1st, Labour day
+ Second Sunday of May, Mother's day
+ June 2nd, Battle of Callao
+ Third Sunday of June, Father's day
+ June 29th, St. Peter and St. Paul, Pope's day
+ July 28th and 29th, Independence days
+ August 30th, St. Rose of Lima's day
+ October 8th, Angamos combat
+ November 1st, All Saints' day
+ November 3rd, St. Martin de Porres' day
+ December 8th, Feast of the Immaculate Conception
+ December 25th, Christmas

Among them, January 1st, Holy Thursday and Friday, May 1st, June 29th, July 28th and 29th, August 30th, October 8th, November 1st, and December 8th and 25th are national non-working holidays. In some regions, the carnival is an additional festival and people opt not to work. Although being non-working holidays, you should know that from some time now some shops still open these days, particularly those which consider these days profitable, such as restaurants.

There are also a few commemorative days in the Peruvian civil calendar. They are not holidays, but people still take them as an excuse to enjoy themselves. I will not include them here, as they are basically to remind Peruvians some special dishes in their cuisine.

Learn + Nations + Peru